Personal Update

So the past few months, I have been going through a really rough time. My mom got sick and had to have emergency surgery about 6 years ago. Since then she never fully recuperated. She was able to live somewhat normally, but she was never the same.

This summer my mom fell really bad and went to live with my brother because I had just had my baby girl and couldn’t take care of her and a newborn at the same time. The plan was to have her live with that brother for a few months until his kids went back to school and then she would come live my other brother and I. We were planning on sharing her so that she would be adequately taken care of. Well, she was with us for less than a week when I took her to the Emergency Room. They admitted her in to the hospital and over the next three weeks, my family would live in a roller coaster of emotions. She went from being king of ok, to a coma, to being kind of ok again, a rehab center where we thought she would recover, back to the hospital then hospice. She had genetic liver disease then her kidneys failed and she refused to suffer through dialysis.

My beautiful perfect mother passed away at the age of 71 on October 20, 2013 at 9:35pm. She was such a strong and independent woman. She was born the oldest girl out of 14 children (I believe) and had to help her mother care for her younger brothers and sisters. They were incredibly poor to begin with and having those many kids just made things worse financially. She lead a difficult life, but one thing you could never deny was how wonderful of a mother and grandmother she was. She had 5 children, 6 grandchildren and many great grandchildren. I as well as my brothers spoke to her almost daily, so not having her here anymore is pretty devastating. I am thankful that she no longer has to suffer, but there are no words to describe the loss of ones mother.

20131124-112943.jpg

20131124-113023.jpg

20131124-113043.jpg

3 thoughts on “Personal Update

Leave a Reply

